Verse Of The Week ~Matthew 6:14-15~

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

This week’s passage is one that will probably make you uncomfortable. It’s one of those verses that makes you look at your own life and examine it in great detail. I actually had another verse planned for this week, but God really opened my heart and my eyes this morning during church service and I felt led to share this verse with you instead. I pray that God will open your heart as well as we take a look at this week’s scripture.

For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.

Matthew 6:14-15

Oh man. This passage hits me like a ton of bricks. The thought of God not forgiving my sins because of the bitterness in my heart makes me so sad. I’m going to get really honest here. When I look at my heart, I am so ashamed to find so much bitterness towards people or situations that are filling up my heart instead of the joy of Christ. The sad part is that most of them are petty, ridiculous, unimportant grudges. Grudges that are over tiny things that make no impact in the long run.

When I remember what Christ did for my sins, I suddenly realize even more just how insignificant those grudges are. That’s why I’m stopping right here, right now, and letting them all go. And I’m challenging you to do the same. No matter where you might be, or what you have going on, I want you to join me in taking some time to forgive. That might mean calling someone and telling them that you forgive them. It could mean taking some time to pray and ask God to forgive you. Whatever that looks like, I want you to take time today to forgive. Not later, today. Forgive people, forgive situations, forgive yourself. Throw the forgiveness around like rice at a wedding. Seriously 😉

 

Author: By His Eyes

Hello my name is Suzanne! I'm your average 16 year old girl who's learning to live by His eyes and I hope you'll join me in my journey!

1 thought on “Verse Of The Week ~Matthew 6:14-15~”

Leave a Reply

