DIY Prayer Journal + How To Start A Prayer Journal

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

One of the things I’ve really been loving lately is prayer journaling. I had many people tell me that I should give it a try, but it never really seemed like my type of thing….now I’m hooked 😉 The best things about prayer journaling is that it can be completely different from person to person and it doesn’t have to be perfect (the messier, the better, in my opinion). The way I prayer journal might look totally different from someone else’s, but that’s the beauty of it! God made us all unique and different for a purpose. I like making things, but if crafting isn’t your thing (or you don’t have extra time to spare…been there done that), feel free to use any pre-made journal you already have. I’m going to show you how I make mine, but go ahead and experiment with whatever you like!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

 

Here’s what you will need:

  • Paper for the inside of your journal
  • Stiff paper for the outside of your journal (cardstock, scrapbooking paper, or even leather will work)
  • A hole punch
  • String to bind your journal
  • Scissors
  • Whatever else you’d like to use on your journal. This is totally optional, but using fun pens, markers, washi tape, stickers, post-it notes, etc. will add a fun touch to your journal

Making your journal is super duper easy (I promise). All you have to do is fold your inside paper and cover paper in half so they form a notebook. You can use a ruler and measure out your cover to ensure that it goes over all of the inside paper, but I just eyeballed it. Next, you’ll want to punch holes in the inside and cover paper. Do this on the fold so that you can use the string to bind it together. I find that one hole punch at the top and one on the bottom through all of the paper works well to keep the journal together. The last thing you’ll want to do then is to run a string through all of the holes in the paper and the cover to pull it together. I decorated my cover with some writing that says “pray without ceasing”, but you could write anything or decorate it with whatever you like! Don’t be afraid to get creative!

One extra thing that I did was I made a little pocket in the back of the journal to place prayer cards that people gave me. I also put my prayer card for my missions trip to Mexico in there so I can be reminded to pray over those things daily. Let me know if you’d like one and I’d love to give it to you!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Now onto how to use your prayer journal…

Again, every single person is different, so don’t feel like you have to do exactly what I did. Some people thrive on writing out their entire prayers in their journals, but I tend to do best with just writing down specific prayers and praises and praying over them.

I like to start out each page with the date, a section for my prayer requests, and a section for praises. I also like to include a little section where I can write down ways that I saw God move throughout the day, whether it was in the beautiful sunshine or in a sweet time spent with a friend.

Something else that I like to do after writing down my prayers and praises is to art it up a little bit with washi tape, little drawings and sayings, and whatever I’m feeling! Some people like just a cut and dry format and others like lots of colors and patterns, so do whatever suits you!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Use the time when you are writing in your prayer journal to reflect over the things God has done and the things that still need His guidance and help. Although writing things down is a great start, really let the prayers you are writing sink deep into your heart. Let me leave you with these verses to encourage you in your prayers

 Rejoice always, pray continually,  give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Author: By His Eyes

Hello my name is Suzanne! I'm your average 16 year old girl who's learning to live by His eyes and I hope you'll join me in my journey!

2 thoughts on “DIY Prayer Journal + How To Start A Prayer Journal”

  1. What a beautiful idea! Thank you for sharing. I think it is so great to find God in the little things throughout the day. Even if it’s just appreciating small things that you take for granted, like the warmth of a good pair of slippers! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

