Verse Of The Week ~Psalms 55:22~

Welcome to today’s verse of the week! This verse just takes my breath away and I hope it does the same to you. Here we go 🙂

Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you: He will never let the righteous be shaken.

Psalms 55:22

The writer of this Psalm, King David, beautifully captures God’s sustaining power in this verse. It’s absolutely amazing how he uses the word “cast” which means to discard, put aside, or let loose. This picture of laying our worries and cares at the feet of Jesus is so incredible. I also love the use of the word “sustain” In this verse. It shows just how much God loves us and how much He desires for us to be kept safe from harm in His arms.

Sometimes letting go of things can be hard. Especially when we’ve let those things become a part of us. When I was younger, I had a stuffed bunny that was my prized possession. “Bunny”, as I so creatively called him, became such a part of my childhood that it was hard for me to even sleep without him. When I got a little bit older and I decided that it was time for me to start sleeping without him, it was so much harder than I had expected. That’s because he had become such a big part of my life and I had become attached to him. The same thing is true in our lives when we hold on to things such as anxiety, worry, stress, and grudges. If those negative things stay in your life for long enough, they will become a piece of you that is harder to pry away than if they had only been a part of your being for a short time.

Sometimes that “prying away” step is challenging and uncomfortable. Sometimes we wonder if it’s really worth it to give it up. Often, we question if God can really take those negative things and turn them into something beautiful. But trust me, when you cast your cares upon the Lord, He’s going to deliver you into His wonderful healing and security that’s greater than anything you’ve ever experienced. 

Author: By His Eyes

Hello my name is Suzanne! I'm your average 16 year old girl who's learning to live by His eyes and I hope you'll join me in my journey!

Leave a Reply

